Real Stuff

african violet

The African violet on the shelf in my kitchen. I don’t know how or why it has bloomed and become so beautiful. I guess just the right food, light and environment and help from the Creator. True to life.

I have been writing a blog on and off for a few years. I have also been writing journal articles, sermons, lessons, etc for a long- long- time. I realize that my writing is often general, or even, more theological than practical. Now being spiritually “born-again” at the age of 23 after growing up in the inner city, a teacher of over twenty years in every type of school out there, a mom of three sons, a step-mom, and a wife of a husband with ptsd, you would think I would have a plethora of things to write about. Well, I do, but I didn’t. Instead my writing was sort of general, non-specific and safe.

But I am changing. Instead, I plan to write about the real stuff. The things that I really deal with- things that might make people laugh, wonder, smile, shake their heads, look at me a little different, or even pray for me. In sharing plainly and even specifically about things, I might encourage others and even myself at the same time. I might have an effect on other people and the way they see their own situations. I might be a factor of change and bring hope in a person’s life.  We’ll see. I certainly hope so!

Am I Ready? Please wish me luck.

5 thoughts on “Real Stuff

Leave a Reply

